Fifty-Fifth Annual Meeting St. Philip's Lutheran Church 6180 Highway 65 NE, Fridley MN 55432 February 3, 2013

MINUTES: Fifty-Fifth Annual Meeting of the Congregation

President Gina Paton called the 55th congregational annual meeting to order at 12:02 PM. Gina thanked Parish Fellowship for the Souper Sunday lunch. Harold Kurtz served as parliamentarian.

1. Opening Devotions:

Senior Pastor Joel Wight Hoogheem

2. Approval of Minutes of the 2012 Annual Meeting

A motion was made, seconded and the motion carried to accept these minutes. Gina Paton thanked the work of the current Board Members.

3. Annual Report of the Pastors and Staff:

Sr. Pastor Joel Wight Hoogheem reviewed the BOA renewal of Vision and Mission Statement

- 1. Increase worship participation and attendance
- 2. Consistent spiritual growth (Biblical fluency)
- 3. Increase financial stewardship
- 4. Expanding community outreach

4. Report of the Committee Chairpersons:

Benevolence and Social Concerns – Karla Ackerman Education – Allison Sukalski Evangelism and Communication – Earl Hatten Human Resources – Matt Johnson Parish Fellowship – Kara Ruwart Property and Grounds – Greg Rosholt Stewardship – Deanna Blomster Worship, Music and Art – Linda LaFond Youth – Andrew Tjader

5. Report of the Endowment Committee:

An annual report of the Endowment Fund was included in the meeting handouts. Bob Becker noted that an adult forum will be offered April 14 to inform the congregation of the work of the Endowment Fund. He also made a call for new members for the Committee.

Question posed: What can endowment funds be used for? Bob stated that interest from the fund can be used for any number of requests made by staff, committees, board, and members. Only interest from the fund is spent, not principal.

6. Report of the Financial Compliance Committee:

Treasurer, Teresa Karsten reported that the 2012 financials have been audited and approved after much hard work by staff and auditors. Thank you!

7. Financial Report:

Monthly financials are posted on BOA bulletin board outside church office. Gina Paton thanked Teresa Karsten for overcoming many challenges in order to get the financials in order. A motion was made, seconded and carried to approve Financial report.

8. Report of the Nominating Committee:

Gina Paton, on behalf of the nominating committee, presented the candidates for election at the 55th Annual meeting.

<u>Officers (1 year term, renewable once)</u> President – Matt Johnson Vice-President – Joel Young Secretary – Miriam Jensen Treasurer – Ron Ackerman

Board of Administration (2 year terms, renewable once) Brad Heitland Arlene Retzer Val Sperry

<u>Committee Chairpersons</u> (2 year term, renewable once) Human Resources – Margo Tech Benevolence and Social Concerns – Judy Beine Education – Amber Young Evangelism and Communication – Kathy Pullen Parish Fellowship – Kara Ruwart Property & Grounds – Greg Rosholt Stewardship – Gina Paton Worship, Music, and Arts – Mike Holmberg Youth Committee – LaRae Kazmierkoski Endowment – Shirley Hogan

Nominating Committee (1 year term, renewable) Matt Johnson, Chair Charmaine Cadwell Val Habig Miriam Jensen Cheryl Jones Financial Compliance (2013) Ed Hamernik Wylie Klawitter

Resolutions Committee Dorothy Kuluvar Joyce Lekang

Delegates to Synod Assembly Matt Johnson Judy Simko

A motion was made, seconded and carried to unanimously accept the official ballot for 2013.

Thank you to Committee Chairs and members for their willingness to serve.

9. New Business:

2013 Budget – Teresa Karsten asked everyone to review the narrative budget. A motion was made, seconded and carried to approve the 2013 budget. Thank you to the Budget Committee for their expertise and diligence.

10. Report of the Resolutions Committee: the 55th Annual Report for the Resolutions Committee, Feb. 3, 2013 – Dorothy Kuluvar

THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED THAT:

We want to give thanks for the dedication, faithfulness, and love given to us by the pastoral staff of Senior Pastor Joel Wight Hoogheem and Pastor Jan Hartsook.

We give thanks for the continued support of the church staff which includes: Wanda Benson, Steve Crain, David Geslin, Nancy Lilja-Nerheim, Chris Neisen, Stephanie Phelps, Brian Schroeder, Ashley Tangen, Carly Tappe, and Jerry Salitros.

We give thanks for the leadership of the President of the congregation, Gina Paton, the Board of Administration, the Committee chairs and members, and all others who have given of their time, their talents, and their resources to lead St. Philip's Lutheran Church by serving the members, the community, and the world.

We give thanks for the addition of 6:16 worship and Faith Night, the Community Garden, WOW (Women on Wednesday) and our new electronic sign.

We give thanks for the St. Philip's Disaster Relief Team and the many hours they spend volunteering their time and talents.

We give thanks to the pastors, the staff, both present and past, and all the ministers, being the membership of St. Philip's Lutheran Church, who have reached out to share with others, here and throughout the world, the love our Lord has given us.

We give thanks for the former church staff members and for their love and support of the mission here at St. Philip's Lutheran Church during their time of service. This includes Pastor John Hierlinger, Hannah Braasch, Tuni Turner and Suzanne Neisen.

We give thanks for the generous giving in 2012 and for the careful use of the funds that you have provided to St. Philip's Lutheran Church. We ask for your continued blessings to keep us good stewards of the resources that you will provide us in 2013. We ask that you be with all the ministers of St. Philip's in our use of the resources given to each of us as we prayerfully consider their use.

We give thanks to God for the growing ministries that we share with Bille Lutheran, our companion congregation in Nigeria, and for the ministries of Jim and Carol Sack, our missionaries in Japan.

We give thanks to God for those who serve in the Minneapolis Area Synod and the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.

We give thanks that we are all one body in Christ.

We give thanks that we are saved through your grace.

We ask God's blessing and guidance as we continue to be a community church centered on Christ that invites others to come and see Jesus.

11. Closing:

Thank you to all who will serve on Board and Committees in 2013

Thank you to Harold Kurtz, parliamentarian

A motion was made, seconded and carried to adjourn the 55th Annual Meeting of St. Philip's Congregation.

Pastor Jan Hartsook closed in prayer

Minutes submitted by Miriam Jensen – Board Secretary