To worship and serve the Triune God, St. Philip’s Lutheran Church was organized in 1958 with 255 baptized members. The Reverend Mandus Egge was called by the Evangelical Lutheran Church to establish a new congregation in Fridley. On February 2 of that year, 231 persons gathered at Nelson School in Columbia Heights. This service was the beginning of a new congregation of believers called St. Philip’s Lutheran Church.
On May 12, 1958, St. Philip’s Lutheran Church was formally organized, and on August 10, 1958, the first worship service was held in the new church building. Growth over the years resulted in more expansion of the facility. Second phase construction began in August 1959 and included an education wing, lobby, kitchen, and utility rooms. The present octagon shaped sanctuary was completed in October of 1966. The original sanctuary is now the Mandus Egge Chapel. Need for gathering space resulted in the addition of a Fellowship Hall and a larger commercial kitchen in April of 1992.
Today the congregation gathers at 9:00 and 10:30 each Sunday morning for worship to the glory and service of the Living God.
This is only a brief history, watch this space for additional information as the Heritage Committee continues to compile the rich history of St. Philip’s.